Nov 8-12, 2018

CineSpace: Finalist and Winners

Run Time: 90 mins Language: English


The 16 short film finalists of the first annual CineSpace competition, a collaborative project of Houston Cinema Arts Society and NASA, will be screened tonight, supplemented by the announcement of the three top winners selected by filmmaker Richard Linklater. Entries are competing for a total of $26,000 in prizes.

Films containing NASA-captured imagery collected throughout the agency’s 50-year history were judged on creativity, innovation, and attention to detail – the same hallmarks of spaceflight. The competition was open to all filmmakers, both professional and aspiring. The chosen films, all under fifteen minutes in length, are in a wide variety of narrative, documentary, and experimental film genres.

194 films were submitted and judged eligible for the competition.

Finalist were announce on October 20, 2015 as follows:

A Little Journey
Lisset Mendoza
Anaheim, CA

As We Set Sail
Lee Arter
Los Angeles, CA

Come Closer
Amia Yokoyama
Los Angeles, CA

 End of the Sky
Elijah Alvarado

 General Astronomy
Victoria Taylor-Gore
Amarillo, TX

 Gravitation: Variation in Time and Space
Andrei Severny
New York, NY

 Guiding Light
Guy Shahaf
Yehud, Israel

Higher Ground
Mary Magsamen and Stephen Hillerbrand
Houston, TX

Benjamin Eck
Sherman Oaks, CA

 Is It Possible To Define Inspiration?
Courtney Robinson
Grimsby, Lincolnshire

 Le Voyage
Alexandre B. Lampron
Laval, Quebec

 Mission Avante
Fernando Dueñas Peña
Bogota Colombia

 Outer Space
Sander van den Berg
Pijnacker, Zuid-Holland

 Red Pearl
Wayne Slaten
League City, TX

Trent Jaklitsch
Brooklyn, NY

Daniel Land and Paul Frieling
Detroit, Michigan

Breaking News